Career Moves

Telkom moves quickly on chairman

Read time 1min 00sec

JSE-listed fixed-line operator Telkom has appointed Jabulane Albert Mabuza as chairman of the board following the departure of Lazarus Zim just over a month ago.

The company moved swiftly to bolster its board after it was left eight directors down earlier this month. This, amid the resignation of CEO Nombulelo "Pinky" Moholi and board chairman Zim - both pegged to be saving graces for the embattled telco.

On Wednesday Mabuza was appointed to the board as a non-executive director, together with Kholeka Mzondeki. With eight members, Telkom said at the time it was in a position to vote on a new chairman.

Prior to that Telkom had lost non-executive directors after the Department of Communications voted against the re-election of four Telkom directors.

This morning the company announced the appointment of former Cell C board member, Leslie Maasdorp.

Currently, Mabuza serves as deputy chairman of Tsogo Sun Holdings and serves on the boards of Ampleray Investments, Eglin Investments No. 44, Hydrop Investments, Kuncedzana Investments Holdings, Lexshell 627 Investments and other boards.

See also
Bonnie Tubbs
ITWeb telecoms editor.

Bonnie Tubbs is ITWeb's telecoms editor.

Have your say
a few seconds ago
Be the first to comment