Who is SA's 13th comms minister?

Read time 2min 00sec
Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams, SA's 13th minister of communications.
Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams, SA's 13th minister of communications.

In a move that will see many breathing a sigh of relief, president Cyril Ramaphosa has merged the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services (DTPS) and the Department of Communications into one unified ministry, headed by Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams.

The move follows Ramaphosa's promises to trim government spending, and cut back on the departments created by former president Jacob Zuma.

But who is Ndabeni-Abrahams?

She was appointed deputy DTPS minister in March 2017, under minister Siyabonga Cwele. Prior to that, she served as deputy minister of communications for over five years.

According to an official government site, she was born in Sakhela Village in Mthatha and has been an African National Congress (ANC) Member of Parliament since 2009.

She was a member of the ANC Youth League National Executive Committee and member of the North West Committee from 2008 to 2010, after which she became a committee member for portfolios: Communications, Defence, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Defence and Intelligence and the ANC Parliamentary Caucus Sub-Committee on Political Education.

Ndabeni-Abrahams is the 13th minister, depending on how one counts, to head this ministry, which has been plagued by a series of scandals since its inception.

Minister Party Term Under President
Pallo Jordan ANC 7 May 1994 - 28 March 1996 Nelson Mandela
Jay Naidoo ANC 29 March 1996 - 16 June 1999  
Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri ANC 17 June 1999 - 2008 Thabo Mbeki
  ANC 2008 - 6 April 2009 Kgalema Motlanthe
Manto Tshabalala-Msimang (acting)[2] ANC 2009  
Siphiwe Nyanda[3] ANC 11 May 2009 - 31 October 2010 Jacob Zuma
Roy Padayachie ANC 1 November 2010 - 24 October 2011  
Dina Pule[4] ANC 25 October 2011 - 9 July 2013  
Yunus Carrim ANC 10 July 2013 - 25 May 2014  
Faith Muthambi ANC 25 May 2014 - 30 March 2017  
Ayanda Dlodlo ANC 30 March 2017 - 17 October 2017  
Mmamoloko Kubayi ANC 17 October 2017 - 26 February 2018  
Nomvula Mokonyane(Minister of Communications)

Siyabonga Cwele (Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Service)

ANC 26 February 2018 - 22 November 2018
Cyril Ramaphosa
Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams ANC 22 November 2018 -  
See also