MTN’s Nhleko bows out as Jonas takes over chairmanship

Staff Writer
By Staff Writer, ITWeb
Johannesburg, 18 Dec 2019
Phuthuma Nhleko has stepped down as chairman of the MTN Group.
Phuthuma Nhleko has stepped down as chairman of the MTN Group.

Phuthuma Nhleko no longer serves as chairman of the MTN Group, and has been replaced by Mcebisi Jonas.

In a SENS statement on Wednesday afternoon, the mobile network operator notes Nhleko stepped down on 15 December 2019, after overseeing what it describes as an orderly transition of the board, including the establishment of the International Advisory Board.

According to the statement, Jonas has assumed the position of chairman of the MTN Group, effective 15 December 2019.

MTN Group president and CEO Rob Shuter reflected on the outgoing chairman’s extraordinary career at the Group, commending his “grit and determination that provided the impetus to grow MTN Group from a plucky start-up into one of Africa’s largest multinational businesses.”

Nhleko also reflected on his time at the Pan-African telco, expressing his gratitude to the retiring directors and the board for persisting passionately on a roadmap (with twists, turns and diversions) that they collectively forged at strategy sessions.

He wished the entire MTN Group family the very best in continuing to etch a Pan-African vision, and mentioned that there is still a lot to be achieved and celebrated in the future, and he has no doubt the MTN Group “can do spirit” will prevail in realising the full potential of this vision.

Jonas also expressed his gratitude to the retiring directors for their invaluable contribution and dedication to MTN Group and across all the markets that MTN Group operates in.

In addition to Nhleko, Alan Harper, Jeff Van Rooyen and Koosum Kaylan have also stepped down from the board.

Meanwhile, Dr. Khotso Mokhele assumed the responsibilities of lead independent director with effect from 15 December 2019, reads the statement.