• Home
  • /
  • Telecoms
  • /
  • MTN reshuffles board, Mbeki to lead international advisory board

MTN reshuffles board, Mbeki to lead international advisory board

Read time 3min 40sec

MTN Group today announced significant changes to the group board and the establishment of an international advisory board (IAB).

In a statement, the operator says the MTN Group board is of the view the company has entered a more stable and settled period, which enables it to now effect an evolution of the board following recent challenging regulatory environments and competitive trading conditions.

MTN Group announces the following changes to the board over the next 12 months:

The chairman of MTN Group, Phuthuma Nhleko, who was anticipated to step down from his position at the AGM to be held on 23 May, will step down from the board on 15 December after overseeing an orderly transition of the board, including the establishment of the IAB.

Mcebisi Jonas has been appointed chairman-designate and will assume the position of chairman of MTN Group effective 15 December.

Dr Khotso Mokhele will assume the responsibilities of lead independent director with effect from 15 December.

Further, Alan Harper, Jeff van Rooyen and Koosum Kaylan will step down from the board on 15 December after an orderly transition and handover to incoming directors.

Peter Mageza and Dawn Marole will step down from the board effective 30 April 2020.

"Further to the above, we are pleased to welcome onto the board His Royal Highness Sanusi Lamido Sanusi and Vincent Rague with effect from 1 July," says MTN.

His Royal Highness Sanusi Lamido Sanusi is a Nigerian national, the Emir of Kano and a former governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria. Rague is a Kenyan national who worked for the International Finance Corporation for 24 years in a number of senior positions.

"We are confident the incoming directors will bring a wealth of experience, diversity of skills and regional experience to the board," the company says.

International advisory board

MTN notes the board has resolved to establish an IAB of prominent persons of considerable and wide-ranging experience.

It explains the primary purpose of the IAB will be to counsel, guide and support the MTN Group from time to time in fulfilling its vision and objective of being one of the premier African corporations with a global footprint in telecommunications, contributing to increased digital inclusion in Africa and the Middle East, a pivotal aspect of the fourth industrial revolution.

While the IAB will be non-statutory in nature and not have any fiduciary responsibility, MTN notes, it will make an important contribution and play a highly valued role in ensuring the board is guided and assisted in achieving the company's vision in a technically complex world with uncertain and shifting geopolitical interests. The IAB will commence on 1 July.

The IAB will be chaired by former president of the Republic of South Africa Thabo Mbeki and will be constituted of the following persons:

* John Kufuor, former president of Ghana.

* Dr Aisha Abdullahi, former African Union commissioner for political affairs.

* Dr Mohammed el Baradei, former director general of the International Atomic Energy Agency.

* Dr Momar Nguer, president of marketing and services Total SA (France).

* Phuthuma Nhleko, chairman of MTN Group.

MTN Group chairman Phuthuma Nhleko comments: "MTN Group highly appreciates and thanks the MTN Group directors who will be stepping down after many years of valued service to the group. We are confident the incoming directors of the board will bring a depth of skills and regional insights that will continue to enrich the experience of the board.

"We are most privileged and honoured to have His Excellency former President of the Republic of South Africa, Mr Thabo Mbeki, agree to chair the IAB and are grateful to all the distinguished persons of the IAB who have agreed to give of their valuable time to contribute to the development of telecommunications and connectivity in Africa and the Middle East."

See also