Career Moves

Nomination call for four ICASA councillors

Read time 2min 00sec

Parliament’s Portfolio Committee on Communications is looking to fill four vacancies on the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA) council, and has called on the public and organisations to nominate suitably qualified candidates.

As the regulator of telecoms, broadcasting and postal services, ICASA council’s is the highest decision-making body within the organisation. It consists of eight members and a chairperson.

In a statement, the committee says three of the vacancies will be filled immediately, while the other one will be filled in January 2022, when the term of office of the relevant councillor expires.

It notes that the vacancies will be filled in terms of the ICASA Act No. 13 of 2000.

Committee chairperson Boyce Maneli explains that the Act requires that persons appointed to the Council must be South African citizens permanently residing in the country and committed to fairness, freedom of expression, openness and accountability.

Furthermore, the candidates must be representative of a broad cross-section of the population of the Republic of South Africa and possess suitable qualifications, expertise and experience in the fields of, among others, broadcasting, electronic communications and postal policy or operations, public policy development, electronic engineering, law, information technology, content in any form, consumer protection, education, economics, finance or any other related expertise or qualifications.

Says Maneli: “Written nominations must contain the full name and address of the institution as well as of the individual making the nomination; the nominee’s signed acceptance of the nomination; and his or her curriculum vitae, which should include the applicant’s full name, ID number, gender, contact address, telephone and fax numbers, as well as e-mail address, previous experience including the dates and organisations concerned. The application must also include certified copies of academic qualifications and identity document.”

All nominations and enquiries should be addressed to the committee secretary Thembinkosi Ngoma and e-mailed to or faxed to 086 522 5740.

Telephonic enquiries can be made to 083 709 8407.

The closing date for nominations is Friday, 23 July at 16:00. No late submissions will be considered.

See also