Career Moves

Board changes at Cell C

Read time 2min 50sec

Cell C today announced changes to its board, including the appointment of a new chairman and board member representatives from shareholders Blue Label Telecoms and Net1.

In a statement, the company says existing Cell C board member, Joe Mthimunye will take over as non-executive chairman effective 20 November 2019.

Following his two-year term, outgoing chairman, Kuben Pillay, has agreed to remain in the position until a handover process has been concluded.

The board would like to thank Pillay for his strong and ethical leadership which has strengthened governance within Cell C, the operator says, adding that Pillay was instrumental in building sound relationships with Cell C’s key stakeholders.

Mthimunye, a chartered accountant (SA), is a co-founder and former partner of Gobodo Incorporated, a forerunner to SNG Grant Thorton.

He is currently executive chairman of aloeCap Proprietary Limited and an independent non-executive director on the Blue Label. He also serves on the board of directors of various non-listed companies in which aloeCap is invested.

In addition to Mthimunye’s appointment, Blue Label and Net1 have nominated new directors as shareholder representatives on the Cell C board.

Gary Harlow and Jerry Vilakazi will replace Brett Levy and Mark Levy as the Blue Label Telecoms representatives, while Paul Edwards will replace Herman Kotze on behalf of Net1.

Harlow is a chartered accountant (SA), an associate of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (UK) and a fellow chartered management accountant (UK).

He is currently the executive chairman of Unihold, where he led the transformation from an engineering conglomerate to an International IT and telecommunications group in the role of CEO prior to its delisting through a management buyout, says Cell C.

Harlow has served on numerous private and public company boards.

Vilakazi is currently the executive chairman of Palama Group of companies which he co-founded.

He previously served as CEO of Business Unity South Africa and he is also the chair of the State Information Technology Agency (SITA), Mpumalanga Gambling Board and Trubok.

Over the years, Cell C says Vilakazi he has held various chairman and directorship roles at companies in the construction, gaming, mining, retail, recruitment and training industries.  

Edwards career has spanned Africa and Asia and covers banking systems, satellite TV, electronic media, telecommunications and payments.

He is a former CEO of Multichoice, Johnnic, MTN and Chairman of Starcomms, a Nigerian telecommunications company.  He is currently deputy chairman of Nasdaq-listed NET1 UEPS, chairman of ZappGroup Africa and Equilibre Bio-energy Productional and director of Mauritius and JSE-listed Lighthouse Capital. He has a BSc and MBA from the University of Cape Town.

“The Cell C Board is grateful for the contributions of outgoing Board members over the last two years and welcomes the incoming Board members.”

The Cell C Board comprise the following directors:

Joe Mthimunye, non-executive chairman (effective 20 November 2019)

Douglas Craigie Stevenson, CEO

Zaf Mahomed, CFO

Lindiwe Mthimunye, independent non-executive director

Alex Smith, non-executive director

Gary Harlow, non-executive director

Jerry Vilakazi, non-executive director

Larry Nestadt, deputy chairman, non-executive director

Paul Edwards, non-executive director

Login with