Public invited to nominate ICASA councillors

Read time 1min 40sec

The Portfolio Committee on Communications in Parliament is calling on the public and organisations to nominate suitable candidates to fill five vacancies at the council of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA), in terms of the ICASA Act. 

In a statement, the committee says one of the five vacancies will be filled immediately, and the rest will be filled in April 2020, upon the expiry of the term of office of the four councillors.

The South African telecoms regulator defines its council as its highest decision-making body. It consists of eight members and the chairperson.

Boyce Maneli, chairperson of the portfolio committee, notes the Act requires that persons appointed to the council must be South African citizens permanently residing in the country and committed to fairness, freedom of expression, openness and accountability, and must be representative of a broad cross-section of the population of the Republic of South Africa.

Furthermore, the candidates must possess suitable qualifications, expertise and experience in the fields of, among others, broadcasting, electronic communications and postal policy or operations, public policy development, electronic engineering, law, information technology, content in any form, consumer protection, education, economics, finance or any other related expertise or qualifications.

Maneli explains: “Written nominations must contain the full name and address of the institution as well as of the individual making the nomination; the nominee’s signed acceptance of the nomination and his or her curriculum vitae, with information including full name; ID number; gender; contact address; telephone and fax numbers as well as e-mail address; previous experience, which quotes the dates and organisations concerned; certified copies of academic qualifications and identity document.”

For further information, contact or call 021 403 3733 or 083 709 8407.

The closing date for nominations is Friday, 27 September at 16:00.

See also