Mondli Gungubele appointed as communications minister

Admire Moyo
By Admire Moyo, ITWeb's news editor.
Johannesburg, 06 Mar 2023
Communications and digital technologies minister Mondli Gungubele.
Communications and digital technologies minister Mondli Gungubele.

The Department of Communications and Digital Technologies (DCDT) has seen leadership changes after president Cyril Ramaphosa reshuffled his Cabinet today.

Mondli Gungubele, who previously served as minister in the Presidency, is now communications and digital technologies minister. Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, who served as communications minister since August 2021, has moved to take the post of minister in the Presidency.

Ramaphosa made much-anticipated changes to his national executive this evening, saying: “The purpose of these changes is to ensure government is properly capacitated and directed to give effect to the commitments made in the State of the Nation Address and the budget speech.”

The DCDT is charged with driving South Africa’s ICT agenda and development of the digital economy.

The ministry is no stranger to leadership changes, after Ntsavheni replaced Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams in 2021.

The ministry was also previously split to form two separate departments: the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services (DTPS) and a “reconfigured” Department of Communications (DOC).

Prior to the 2018 merger of the DTPS and DOC to form the now-DCDT, the ministry welcomed five different department heads in the space of two years.

Following the Cabinet reshuffle in March 2017, which saw Faith Muthambi's exit, the department welcomed Ayanda Dlodlo, but her tenure was short-lived. Dlodlo was shuffled to another ministry, resulting in Mmamoloko Kubayi taking over ministerial duties in October 2017.

When Ramaphosa took office, he too made changes, appointing Nomvula Mokonyane to head up the department in February 2018. Later that year, the president made the second change to his Cabinet by adding Ndabeni-Abrahams, tasking her to head up the unified communications ministry.

Other former ministers in the department have included Siphiwe Nyanda, Dina Pule, Yunus Carrim and the late Roy Padayachee.

Said Ramaphosa: “We have said that the people of South Africa want action, they want solutions and they want government to work for them.

“All members of the executive have been directed to focus on those agreed actions that will make a meaningful difference now, that will enable real progress within the next year and that will lay a foundation for a sustained recovery into the future.

“All parts of government are focused on addressing those issues that concern South Africans the most: load-shedding, unemployment, poverty and the rising cost of living, and crime and corruption.

“There has been some concern expressed by South Africans about the amount of time it has taken to finalise these changes to the executive. This delay is the result of a number of processes that needed to be followed, some of which relate to the requirements of the Constitution relating to the appointment of members of the national executive.”

Meanwhile, Paul Mashatile has been appointed as deputy president, replacing David Mabuza, who tendered his resignation earlier.

Another notable announcement was the appointment of new minister in the Presidency responsible for electricity, Dr Kgosientsho Ramokgopa.

“I wish to extend my appreciation to all outgoing ministers and deputy ministers for their service to this administration and to the country.

“I have instructed both new and existing members of Cabinet to act with speed and urgency to address the challenges that our country faces,” said the president.

Minister appointments

  • Minister in the Presidency, Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
  • Minister in the Presidency responsible for women, youth and persons with disabilities, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  • Minister in the Presidency responsible for planning, monitoring and evaluation, Maropene Ramokgopa
  • Minister in the Presidency responsible for electricity, Dr Kgosientsho Ramokgopa
  • Minister of communications and digital technologies, Mondli Gungubele
  • Minister of co-operative governance and traditional affairs, Thembi Nkadimeng
  • Minister of public service and administration, Noxolo Kiviet
  • Minister of public works and infrastructure, Sihle Zikalala
  • Minister of sports, arts and culture, Zizi Kodwa
  • Minister of tourism, Patricia de Lille
  • Minister of transport, Sindisiwe Chikunga

Deputy minister appointments

  • Deputy ministers in the Presidency, Nomasonto Motaung and Kenneth Morolong
  • Deputy minister in the Presidency responsible for women, youth and persons with disabilities, Sisisi Tolashe
  • Deputy minister in the Presidency responsible for planning, monitoring and evaluation, Pinky Kekana
  • Deputy ministers for co-operative governance and traditional affairs, Parks Tau and Zolile Burns-Ncamashe
  • Deputy ministers for water and sanitation, David Mahlobo and Judith Tshabalala
  • Deputy minister of public works, Bernice Swarts
  • Deputy minister of small business development, Dipuo Peters
  • Deputy minister of public enterprises, Obed Bapela
  • Deputy minister of transport, Lisa Mangcu