IITPSA President's Awards focus on innovation

Read time 2min 10sec

The importance of entrepreneurship and leadership, innovative thinking and positive change in the local technology sector will be explored by a panel of industry leaders at this year's IITPSA President's Awards.

These annual awards, presented by the Institute of Information Technology Professionals SA (IITPSA), recognise and celebrate the outstanding talent, leadership, vision and commitment of individuals and organisations within the local ICT industry.

The awards include IT Personality of the Year, Visionary CIO of the Year, Distinguished Service in ICT, and IT Leading Employer.

The top-calibre panellists include Rob Stokes, CEO of Quirk and IT Personality of the Year 2012, and Benjamin Mopathlane, CEO of BCX and 2002 IT Personality of the Year winner. They will be joined by Sello Mmakau, CIO of the Department of Home Affairs and the 2012 Visionary CIO, and Sandi Macfie, an independent consultant, former CIO of Tsogo Sun and the 2011 Visionary CIO.

They will unpack key success factors for local technology companies and what they believe should be done to foster innovation and success, and share their advice for the next generation of leaders and entrepreneurs in SA.

Also presenting at the event will be Carel Booysen, executive for business broadband at Telkom SA, who will discuss the importance of broadband and convergence in driving innovation and entrepreneurship in SA.

Top five finalists

This year marks the 35th IT Personality of the Year Award. The five 2013 finalists are:

* Barry Dwolatzky, director of the Joburg Centre for Software Engineering (JCSE)
* Mteto Nyati, MD of Microsoft SA
* Pieter de Villiers, founder and CEO of Clickatell
* Stafford Masie, founder of Thumzup
* Wesley Lynch, CEO and founder of Realmdigital

The Visionary CIO Award, now in its sixth year, recognises an executive who has demonstrated visionary leadership in using technology to support and grow business. The five 2013 finalists are:

* Alec Joannou, CIO of Sasol
* Antony Hlungwane, head of Group IT, Hollard
* Fred Swanepoel, CIO of Nedbank
* Quinton Caryer, CIO for FNB Wealth
* Sal Laher, CIO and divisional executive, Eskom SOC

IITPSA President's Awards Breakfast
The winners of the IITPSA President's Awards 2013 will be announced at an exclusive business breakfast on Thursday 7 November at Montecasino, Fourways. Join us in celebrating the ICT industry's top achievers. Click here to book your table!

See also