Career Moves

Nominations open for IITPSA President’s Awards

Read time 1min 00sec

The Institute of Information Technology Professionals SA (IITPSA) has called for nominations for this year’s IITPSA President’s Awards, which include the IT Personality and Visionary CIO of the year accolades.

The IITPSA awards, presented this year in partnership with ICT media publications ITWeb and EngineerIT, and award partner, the Gordon Institute of Business Science, have recognised the South African IT industry’s leading lights for over 40 years.

Past winners include the likes of Etion CEO Teddy Daka and Absa CIO for Virtual Channels Jacques Barkhuizen (2018), Entelect CEO Shashi Hansjee and former Sasol Global CIO Alec Joannou (2017), and Adapt IT CEO Sbu Shabalala and Peter Alkema, business banking CIO at First National Bank (2016).

The awards will be presented at the annual President’s Awards event, the South African ICT sector’s highlight of the year, to be staged in Johannesburg in November.

This year’s event will align with IITPSA’s forward-looking focus on industry progress, youth skills development and increased future partnership efforts, under the theme “NE><T”.

IITPSA CEO Tony Parry says the President’s Awards have grown in scope and profile over the years in line with a changing environment – expanding last year to include the Technology Excellence Award and Social Responsibility/Community Award.

“The introduction of new categories recognised expanding priorities in the IT sector, while the growing prestige of the awards reflects the increasing importance of IT professionals for enterprise and the economy as a whole,” he says.

“This year, the awards theme acknowledges that the IT sector is in a state of accelerated change and development, and we have to continually prepare for what comes next.”

IITPSA CEO, Tony Parry.
IITPSA CEO, Tony Parry.

Nominations are invited for:

  • The IT Personality Award, which recognises a highly-respected and outstanding ICT professional who has made a significant technical or academic contribution to the industry, who has been successful in building a highly-respected IT organisation or business, and/or who has made a major contribution to the IT profession over a number of years.
  • The Visionary CIO Award, which honours a CIO who has demonstrated visionary leadership in using IT to support, grow and transform business and/or who has established best practice in implementing technology solutions in an organisation.
  • The Technology Excellence Award, which will be presented to a person or team who has made exceptional or innovative use of technology for an organisation and/or who has exhibited technological excellence that has delivered measurable benefit for business/the SA economy.
  • Social Responsibility/Community Award, which will be presented to a person, team or project that delivers the benefits of IT on a not-for-profit basis into the community or brings the community into the IT space.

Click here to nominate candidates. Nominations close on Sunday, 1 September, after which awards judging panels will select this year’s finalists.

The finalists will then be announced and will thereafter be interviewed by the judges, and the winners chosen.

See also