IT Personality, Visionary CIO nominations under way

Read time 2min 10sec

The nominations for the IITPSA President’s awards are open until 20 October. 

The annual awards, including the IT Personality of the Year and the Visionary CIO, are held by the Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA) in partnership with ITWeb and the Gordon Institute of Business Science. 

Themed ‘Excellence in adversity’, this year's programme will recognise those who enabled their organisations to survive and grow despite extremely challenging circumstances.

This year, to maintain social distancing, the judging will be done via virtual meetings, according to Tony Parry, IITPSA CEO.  The announcement of the winners will take place in the first quarter of next year, circumstances permitting.

Past winners include Geekulcha COO Tiyani Nghonyama as the IT Personality of the Year and Alexander Forbes Group CIO Sandra La Bella as the Visionary CIO (2019), Etion CEO Teddy Daka and Absa CIO for virtual channels Jacques Barkhuizen (2018), Entelect CEO Shashi Hansjee and former Sasol Global CIO Alec Joannou (2017), and Adapt IT CEO Sbu Shabalala and Peter Alkema, business banking CIO at First National Bank (2016).

The IITPSA has called for nominations for the following awards:

The IT Personality Award recognises a highly respected and outstanding ICT professional who has made a significant technical or academic contribution to the industry. The award also recognises the personality who has been most successful in building a highly-respected IT organisation or business, and/or who has made a major contribution to the IT profession over a number of years.

The Visionary CIO Award honours a CIO who has demonstrated visionary leadership in using IT to support, grow and transform business and/or who has established best practice in implementing technology solutions in an organisation.

The Technology Excellence Award will be presented to a person or team who has made exceptional or innovative use of technology for an organisation and/or who has exhibited technological excellence that has delivered measurable benefit for business/the South African economy.

The Social Responsibility/Community Award will be presented to a person, team or project that delivers the benefits of IT on a not-for-profit basis into the community or brings the community into the IT space.

To submit your nominations, go to:

See also