Who should be named IT personality, Visionary CIO 2019?

Read time 1min 00sec

The nominations for the annual IITPSA President’s Awards are open till 1 September.

The Institute of Information Technology Professionals SA (IITPSA) awards, presented this year in partnership with ITWeb, EngineerIT and Gordon Institute of Business Science, have recognised the South African IT industry’s top achievers for over 40 years.

Past winners include the likes of Etion CEO Teddy Daka and Absa CIO for Virtual Channels Jacques Barkhuizen (2018), Entelect CEO Shashi Hansjee and former Sasol Global CIO Alec Joannou (2017), and Adapt IT CEO Sbu Shabalala and Peter Alkema, business banking CIO at First National Bank (2016).

“President’s Awards have grown in scope and profile over the years in line with a changing environment – expanding last year to include the Technology Excellence Award and Social Responsibility/Community Award,” says IITPSA CEO Tony Parry.

The awards will be presented at the annual President’s Awards event, to be staged in Johannesburg in November, under the theme “NE><T”.

 Parry says the theme reflects IITPSA’s forward-looking focus on industry progress, youth skills development and increased future partnership efforts. “The awards theme acknowledges that the IT sector is in a state of accelerated change and development, and we have to continually prepare for what comes next.”

Nominations are invited for:

  • The IT Personality Award, which recognises a highly-respected and outstanding ICT professional who has made a significant technical or academic contribution to the industry, who has been successful in building a highly-respected IT organisation or business, and/or who has made a major contribution to the IT profession over a number of years.
  • The Visionary CIO Award, which honours a CIO who has demonstrated visionary leadership in using IT to support, grow and transform business and/or who has established best practice in implementing technology solutions in an organisation.
  • The Technology Excellence Award, which will be presented to a person or team who has made exceptional or innovative use of technology for an organisation and/or who has exhibited technological excellence that has delivered measurable benefit for business/the SA economy.
  • Social Responsibility/Community Award, which will be presented to a person, team or project that delivers the benefits of IT on a not-for-profit basis into the community or brings the community into the IT space.

Click here to nominate candidates. Nominations close on Sunday, 1 September, after which awards judging panels will select this year’s finalists.

The finalists will then be announced and will thereafter be interviewed by the judges, and the winners chosen.

See also