Geekulcha to honour Student Society leaders at #GKHack19

Read time 2min 10sec

Geekulcha will host its Geekulcha Student Society (GKSS) Awards on 29 November, the opening night of the Geekulcha Annual Hackathon 2019.

GKSS was founded in 2015 as a collaboration between Geekulcha and the Northern Cape Department of Economic Development and Tourism. Today it has chapters on 18 campuses, in six provinces.

“We created the GKSS programme to help build and shape the leadership capacity across campuses and encourage tomorrow’s captains of industry to find their place in tech,” says Tiyani Nghonyama, Geekulcha COO. “The GKSS leadership deserves to be honoured for the pivotal role it has played in numerous hackathons hosted by Geekulcha over the past year.”

The nominees for the 2019 GKSS Awards are:

Best Startup/Project (created at a hackathon)

●Accountability Trend (Rosebank College, GKSS-RC)

●Dumela (Sol Plaatje University, GKSS-SPU)

●Rebels (Vaal University of Technology, GKSS-VUT)

Best GKSS Chapter of 2019

●Vaal University of Technology (GKSS-VUT)

●Sol Plaatje University (Sol Plaatje University, GKSS-SPU)

●Tshwane University of Technology (GKSS-TUT)

Best Industry Partner


●HERE Technologies

●Red Bull Basement

Best Industry/Government Mentor

●Muzi Ntombela, CIO, Centre for Public Service Innovation

●Lenah Kitenge, Community Analyst, HERE Technologies

●Ivan Regasek, CEO, ITWeb

●Doreen Mokoena, Internet Governance Coordinator, ZADNA

●Paul Plantinga, Human Sciences Research Council

Best Support Lecturer

●Professor Pius Olawali, Tshwane University of Technology

●Eva Mamabolo, Sol Plaatje University

●Professor Tranos Zuva, Vaal University of Technology

●Patrick Motsweni, Tshwane University of Technology

●Emmanuel Mtsweni, University of South Africa

Best GKSS Female Leader

●Mbalenhle Mahlangu, Pearson Institute of Higher Education (GKSS-PIHE)

●Grace Chuma, Richfield Graduate Institute of Technology (GKSS-RGIT)

●Yolanda Mabusela, Vaal University of Technology (GKSS-VUT)

●Zimvo Mhambi, Rosebank College (GKSS-RC)

●Lerato Tsotetsi, Tshwane University of Technology (GKSS-TUT)

GKSS Leader of the Year

●Moses Mhlwana, Tshwane University of Technology (GKSS-TUT)

●Barrington Hulana, Sol Plaatje University (GKSS-TUT)

●Grace Chuma, Richfield Graduate Institute of Technology (GKSS-RGIT)

●Koketso Motseothata, University of South Africa (GKSS-UNISAFlorida)

●Mercy Makgale, Vaal University of Technology (GKSS-VUT)

The Geekulcha Annual Hackathon 2019 (#GKHack19) will take place from 29 November- 1 December at the Global Entrepreneurship Network (GENAfrica, 22 on Sloane in Bryanston, Sandton.The theme of the #GKHack19 is ‘Building a Geek Culture of Sustainable Innovation’.

To enter the Hackathon, donations of clothing, canned food, sanitary towels or books were required. These are then distributed through Geekulcha’s charity drives at their events.

For more information, or to sponsor a category, visit the Geekulcha Annual Hackathon site and follow #GKHack19 on Twitter.

See also