Career Moves

Voting open for IT Personality, Visionary CIO 2013

Voting closes on 25 September; winners will be announced at the IITPSA President's Awards event, on 7 November, at Montecasino.

Read time 1min 20sec

Ten IT Personality and 10 Visionary CIO candidates have made it to the 2013 short-list, which is open for public voting until Wednesday, 25 September.

This year marks the 35th IT Personality of the Year Award, presented by The Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA, formerly CSSA), in association with ITWeb, the Gordon Institute of Business Science, and Gartner Africa. Past winners include Alan Knott-Craig, Andile Ngcaba, Mark Shuttleworth, Asher Bohbot, and in 2012, Rob Stokes, CEO of Quirk.

The Visionary CIO Award, now in its sixth year, recognises an executive who has demonstrated visionary leadership in using technology to support and grow business. Past winners include Rabelani Dagada, Carl Louw, Patrick Monyeki, Sandi Macfie, and in 2012, Sello Mmakau, CIO of Home Affairs.

From dozens of nominations received from the IT community and the public, the judging panel has selected the top 10 candidates, all of whom have had outstanding careers and have made significant contributions to the South African IT industry.

Based on the public votes and the adjudication of the panel, five IT Personality and five Visionary CIO finalists will be selected.

The winners of both awards will be announced at the IITPSA President's Awards event, on the morning of 7 November 2013, at Montecasino.

Cast your vote by Wednesday, 25 September. A person is allowed to vote only once in each of the two categories.

See also