New CSIR board welcomed

Read time 1min 10sec

The new three-year committee for the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) has officially been welcomed on board.

The new board received a salute from science and technology minister Naledi Pandor on Friday, at the inaugural CSIR board meeting, in Pretoria, during which she spoke of the council's legacy and forward-looking intentions.

The new board consists of the following members: Francis Petersen (interim chairperson), Eugene Cloete, Tebello Nyokong, Mike Wingfield, Phillip Hugh Goyns, Ghandi Badela, Phillip Benad'e, McLean Sibanda, Bajabulile “Swazi” Tshabalala and Malebo Mabitje-Thompson.

Peterson, Wingfield and Sibanda are all reappointments, a move Pandor said would “ensure continuity” within the organisation.

Pandor said on Friday that the development of many ground-breaking innovations and technology developments in SA could be traced back to the CSIR, ranging from battery technologies, pharmaceuticals and new materials, to planning tools and systems.

“The CSIR has gone from strength to strength, and is still, as it was in the 1950s, the biggest and best-resourced science laboratory complex in the country.”

Pandor said she was looking forward to the CSIR maintaining this legacy.

Have your say
Facebook icon
Youtube play icon