Interim board for the SABC

Read time 1min 30sec

The South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) is set to have an interim board within the next 10 days, after the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Communications proposed five new names.

This comes after the National Assembly yesterday agreed to disband the board after a slew of resignations left the board with only non-executive director Claire McNeil and group CEO Lulama Mokhobo still sitting.

The lack of a functioning board has again held up digital television, as the board is required to sign off on a set-top box control agreement that will allow manufacture of decoders to go ahead. As the Department of Communications has been waiting for manufacture of subsidised boxes to start before switching on digital television, this has also again been delayed.

The SABC reported that president Jacob Zuma now has 10 days to approve the names of five nominees submitted to serve on an interim SABC board, which could be in place for up to six months before a permanent board is appointed.

According to the broadcaster, the five names sent to the National Assembly are chairperson designate, Zandile Tshabalala; and her deputy, Noluthando Gosa; as well as economist Iraj Aberdian; former member of the Public Service Commission, Vusumzi Mavuso; and chartered accountant Ronnie Lubisi.

DA shadow minister of communications Marian Shinn says the interim board has been a rushed affair. "While we do not support this process by which this board was chosen, we wish them well in the Sisyphean task of getting the SABC operational until a properly nominated and elected board can be appointed."

Have your say
Facebook icon
Youtube play icon