MTN announces women in ICT nominees

Read time 2min 10sec
MTN is encouraged by the calibre of women nominated for the accolades, says CEO Mteto Nyati.
MTN is encouraged by the calibre of women nominated for the accolades, says CEO Mteto Nyati.

MTN SA has announced the finalists who will vie for the top prize in various categories in the inaugural Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards.

The initiative was launched by MTN SA in partnership with Kagiso Media's Jacaranda FM and East Coast Radio.

The awards programme aims to acknowledge and celebrate the contribution made by female professionals in the growth of SA's ICT sector.

According to MTN SA, the programme is also geared at attracting female professionals to the ICT sector by showcasing available career opportunities in the industry that is still male dominated.

The awards are segmented into categories that include leadership recognition, entrepreneur recognition, innovator recognition and graduate award.

Some of the shortlisted nominees are SweepSouth's CEO Aisha Pandor for the entrepreneur award, local start-up entrepreneur and co-founder of BeSpecular Stephanie Cowper for the innovator recognition award, as well as Dr Mmaki Jantjies for the leadership recognition, community builder and outstanding women awards.

MTN SA CEO Mteto Nyati says: "We are encouraged by the calibre of the women who were nominated for our Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards initiative. The adjudication panel faced a challenging task of arriving at a decision considering the calibre of the nominations submitted. The quality of the submissions validates an initiative of this nature and demonstrates the immense contribution that women have made to the growth of the ICT sector in South Africa."

Nyati adds: "We wish to congratulate all the finalists in the different categories and wish them luck in the finals."

The winners in the inaugural edition of the Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards will be announced on 31 August at a gala function that will be held at Hyde Park in Johannesburg.

The full list of nominees:

Leadership Recognition Award

  • Aisha Mohamed
  • Mmaki Jantjies
  • Christelle Van der Merwe

Innovator Recognition Award

  • Stephanie Cowper
  • Amelia Thiart
  • Paula Sartini

Community Builder

  • Dianne Broodryk
  • Baratang Miya
  • Mmaki Jantjies

Outstanding Women Award

  • Zimkhita Buwa
  • Vuyokazi Menye
  • Mmaki Jantjies

The Entrepreneur Award

  • Irene Charnley
  • Nomsa Nteleko
  • Aisha Pandor

Excellence in Journalism

  • Thabiso Mochiko
  • Paula Gilbert
  • Simnikiwe Mzekandaba

Graduate Award

  • Ghislaine Livie Ngangom Tiemeni
  • Sharon Rao-Farista
  • Eva Ramaila

(Disclaimer: ITWeb Brainstorm is the print media partner for these awards.)

Have your say
Facebook icon
Youtube play icon