Post office takes cashless ATMs to Limpopo

Read time 3min 30sec

The South African Post Office (SAPO) has taken its cashless ATMs to Limpopo, launching at an informal store in Ga Molepo outside Polokwane.

SAPO first introduced the cashless ATMs in Bojanala local municipality in Rustenburg last month, as part of efforts to relieve its cash distribution pain point of SA Social Security Agency (SASSA) grants.

The national postal service decided to have the ATMs located in spaza shops, township and rural areas’ merchants to avail financial services close to where SASSA beneficiaries live.

The cashless ATMs are similar to traditional ATMs; however, instead of issuing cash it prints out a merchant slip that the social grant beneficiary can exchange for cash or goods at the trader.

“The cashless ATM helps decongest current payment points (post office branches, ATMs and retail merchants) by increasing SASSA grants access points, and thus assists government’s social distancing requirements in light of the COVID-19 pandemic,” says SAPO board chairperson Colleen Makhubele.

The post office is looking to roll out 10 000 of the cashless ATMsat traders around South Africa.

Bringing financial services to the people is one of the most important goals of the South African Post Office, adds Makhubele. “We are proud to announce a product that takes South Africans one step further away from cash, and which will benefit local economies. Moreover, it enables the vulnerable members of society to make the absolute most of their grant.”

Traders interested in hosting the cashless ATM can e-mail for more information.

Board vacancies

Meanwhile, communications and digital technologies minister Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams has invited the public to nominate suitable candidates to join the SAPO board.

The SAPO board is looking to fill the vacancies of three non-executive members.

In a statement, Ndabeni-Abrahams says members will be appointed in their personal capacity and serve on a part-time basis for a period not exceeding three years (subject to annual performance assessment).

Allowances will be in accordance with the guidelines approved by the minister for the remuneration of the SAPO board.

In terms of suitability, the minister indicates nominees must have experience and expertise in any of the following fields: financial management, preferably a chartered accountant who has served in audit committees; legal with commercial law, negotiations and contract management; postal services and postal service management; mail operations, expertise and understanding of regulation and transformation of the postal sector; logistics; general business acumen, business rescue and restructuring; and e-commerce.

In addition to the requirements of the Act, members of the board should have significant experience in finance, planning and corporate governance, ideally of public entities.

“The nominees must possess an undergraduate qualification (bachelor's degree or advanced diploma), business experience and a minimum of 10 years’ experience at executive management/senior level in a complex business environment, and board experience at large corporations, companies or entities.

“Nominees must be South African citizens and will be required to disclose a financial interest in line with section 10 of the Act. Successful candidates must submit themselves to verification of qualification and security clearance.

“Relevant curricula vitae for nominated candidates, including the following information, should be provided: identity number; gender; race; current designation and responsibilities; contact details (postal and e-mail addresses, and telephone and fax numbers); qualifications and field; current and past service on boards; areas of expertise; and the names and contact details of two referees. Confirmation of the availability of the nominee is also required.”

The nominating party must complete a board nomination form, to be submitted with the relevant application documents.

The ministry advises the public to send applications to the director-general of communications and digital technologies, for the attention of Michael Ntshingila, on

Nominations must submitted by no later than 26 June.

See also