Nominations now open for 2018 IITPSA President's Awards

Johannesburg, 07 Aug 2018
Read time 2min 20sec

The Institute of Information Technology Professionals SA (IITPSA) has opened the call for nominations for its annual President's Awards, including the prestigious IT Personality and Visionary CIO of the Year Awards.

Now in their 40th year, the IITPSA Annual President's Awards recognise South Africa's leading CIOs and IT personalities at the ICT industry's premier gala event. This year's awards event will also see the presentation of two brand new awards: The Technology Excellence Award and the Social Responsibility/Community Award.

First established in 1957 as the Computer Society South Africa (CSSA), the IITPSA has evolved with the changing ICT environment. It now serves and represents a vastly expanded membership from all levels of the ICT Industry, as well as hosting its annual President's Awards, long regarded as the industry's leading accolades.

IITPSA, in partnership with its award partners, presents the IT Personality of the Year Award to a person who has made an outstanding impact on the South African ICT industry over the past year and a significant contribution to the IT profession; and the Visionary CIO of the Year Award, recognising an executive in the corporate IT environment who has demonstrated visionary leadership in applying technology to grow and transform business. The Distinguished Service in ICT Award recognises a significant, career length contribution to the ICT profession or the ICT Industry, and the Fellowship of the Institute Award is given in recognition of an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to the institute or the profession as a whole.

Past winners of these prestigious awards include Entelect's Shashi Hansjee, the JCSE's Prof. Barry Dwolatzky, Sbu Shabalala, Mteto Nyati, Alan Knott-Craig, Andile Ngcaba, Mark Shuttleworth, Aleta Ling, Ivan Epstein, Asher Bohbot and Gian Visser; Sasol's Alec Joannou, Engen's Peter du Plooy, Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga, Patrick Monyeki, Sandi Macfie, Sello Mmakau and Prof Pete Janse van Vuuren.

The new Technology Excellence Award recognises a person or a team who has made exceptional or innovative use of IT or has designed an innovative new technology for an organisation. The Social Responsibility/Community Award recognises either a person, team or project that delivers the benefits of IT on a not-for-profit basis into the community or is bringing the community into the IT space (helping to address the digital divide).

Nominations can be submitted here by 31 August 2018.

A panel of leading ICT sector judges will announce a shortlist of finalists, with the winners to be named at the awards event in November this year.

Editorial contacts
IITPSA Tony Parry (+27) 11 315 1319
See also