COJ expands e-services to reduce service centre visits

Read time 2min 00sec
Comments (0)

The City of Johannesburg (COJ) has expanded its electronic services (e-services) platform by adding an e-mail service dedicated to revenue-related issues.

This, as South Africans are encouraged to continue staying at home and practise social distancing as the country’s COVID-19 cases continue to climb.

Health minister Dr Zweli Mkhize confirmed the cumulative number of COVID-19 cases has breached the 100 000 mark, at 101 590.The total number of deaths is 1 991 and the total number of recoveries is 53 444, as of today.

In a statement, the COJ says it opened revenue-related e-mail addresses in customer service centres to allow residents to easily and safely interact with municipalities during and post the COVID-19 pandemic and lockdown.

“The regional e-mails are designed to reduce the physical influx of municipal account-holders with revenue-related queries into the city’s customer service centres, particularly during the COVID-19 lockdown.

“Some of the services that can be obtained on the regional-based e-mails include, among others, billing queries, meter investigation requests, pensioner rebates applications, as well as water- and electricity-related concerns that include new connections, prepaid and upgrades or downgrades.”

The city’s e-services platform allows residents to register to access municipal services online.

To log technical calls during the COVID-19 lockdown, residents are advised to use Joburg Water and City Power social media, applications and Web site platforms via this link and

“These platforms are useful as the occasional unforeseen evacuation of the call centre building sometimes affects access to the technical call centre lines.

“The emergency call centre lines, however, remain open as these can be easily redirected to other spheres of government emergency centres.”

The COJ advises that its new regional e-mail addresses work better when residents located in the city’s allocated regions use the respective regions’ e-mail addresses.

The following are the e-mail addresses for regions A, B, C, D, E, F and G, with the respective customer service centres:

Waterfall CSC:

Randburg Civic Centre:

Roodepoort Civic Centre and City Hall:

Jabulani Civic Centre:

Sandton Regional Office:

Thuso House CSC:

Lenasia Civic CSC:

Login with
10 Aug
Be the first to comment
See also